Book Review-In for a Penny: A Humorous Amateur Sleuth Cozy Mystery Book 1-Kelsey Browning and Nancy Naigle | Miki's Hope

Book Review-In for a Penny: A Humorous Amateur Sleuth Cozy Mystery Book 1-Kelsey Browning and Nancy Naigle

Monday, October 26, 2020

If you thought that 'senior' woman weren't capable of getting things done--this novel will disavow you of those thoughts! If something has to get done--trust a senior woman with her friends to get it done.Of course it might not be the most logical way--but heck--it got done!!

You will definitely laugh and cry along with these three very different, slightly zany women as they try to save not only the estate of one of them--but then how to get the owner of said house out of jail. She had been scammed. No way were they going to let her take the fall!!

If you want a really good, clean read--then this is it!!

About the Book: (from Amazon)

The Golden Girls meet Dirty Harry…

from USA Today bestselling authors

When Lillian Summer Fairview’s husband up and dies on her, it leaves the last living member of the most prestigious family in the small town of Summer Shoals, Georgia, in a hot money mess. Desperate to keep up the family name and give the man a decent burial, penniless Lil cooks up a shady deal that lands her smack-dab in the slammer.

Burdened by her shameful secret and a crumbling family estate, Lil entrusts Summer Haven’s care to her best friend, Maggie, who recruits two more over-fifty ladies to help. But when Maggie discovers that Lil’s restitution is ten times the amount she “borrowed” from the federal government, she’s convinced Lil has taken the fall for someone else’s crime.

Will these gals be able to get some vigilante justice for Lil, or will the swindler get away with hoodwinking a sweet little old lady? Recipes included!
Originally published as In for a Penny in the Granny/G Team series)

Although all books are stand alones, if you would like to read the entire series chronologically and follow the character development, the following is the correct order. The stories are secondary to the main series.

1. In for a Penny
2. Collard Greens and Catfishing
3. Christmas Cookies and a Confession - A Jenny & Teague romantic adventure story
4. Deviled Eggs and Deception
5. Sweet Tea and Second Chances - A Jenny & Teague romantic adventure story
6. Fried Pickles and a Funeral
7. Wedding Mints and Witnesses

Read a Chapter or Two Here

Purchase the Book Here

About the Authors: (from Amazon)

About Kelsey Browning

USA Today bestselling author Kelsey Browning writes humorous Southern women's fiction with a sprinkling of mystery, sexy contemporary romance, and romantic suspense. Her Georgia-set, co-authored G Team mystery series is described by readers as "The Golden Girls meet Dirty Harry." Her single title romances garner reviews that call her writing funny, sassy, and full of sizzling chemistry.

Originally from a Texas town smaller than the ones she writes about, Kelsey has also lived in the Middle East and Los Angeles, proving she's either adventurous or downright nuts. These days, she makes her home in northeast Georgia with her tech-savvy husband, her smart-talking son, and her (fingers crossed) future therapy pup.

For info on her upcoming releases, subscribe to her Sass Kickin' News or drop by

About Nancy Naigle

USA Today bestselling author Nancy Naigle whips up small-town love stories with a whole lot of heart. She began her popular contemporary romance series, Adams Grove while juggling a successful career in finance and life on a seventy-six-acre farm. Over twenty-five novels later, Nancy is a Romance Writers of America and ACFW Honor Roll author. Her books have been translated into multiple languages and received favorable reviews from major trade journals.

In 2018, Crown Media brought two of Nancy's novels, Christmas Joy and Hope at Christmas to life. She also novelized two Hallmark Original Movies set in the town of Evergreen, and the third is a work in progress, bringing the whole story and bonus epilogues to Hallmark fans. Watch for The Secret Ingredient and Sand Dollar Cove coming later this year.

Now happily retired from a career in the financial industry, she devotes her time to writing, antiquing, and horseback riding with friends. A Virginia girl at heart, Nancy now calls North Carolina home.

Download a complete list of Nancy's books at, then stay up to date with future releases by joining Nancy's free newsletter -or-visit her on facebook and twitter (@nancynaigle)

All opinions expressed are my own honest opinions. For more information please check my Disclosure Statement. Our giveaways are in no way sponsored or promoted by Facebook or Google.


Miki's Hope . Design by Pocket