Miki's Hope

Book Review- The Last Librarian (The Justar Journal Book 1) Brandt Legg

Monday, June 25, 2018


My heart was in my throat -- no more libraries -- no more print books. Now we all know how I love to read--and even the thought of this sends shivers down my spine!! Oh I now read E-Books-but that is actually pretty recent--and I may not go to libraries anymore--but if you asked my Mom she would tell you that whenever she happened to ask what I wanted to do--I answered "let's go the the library!" Whether it was the NYC Library or the little one in our town--that's where I wanted to go!!

The only problem with E-Books is they can be changed to suit nefarious purposes--If we all do not know the truth of the past (because it has been changed or deleted --how are we ever going to NOT make the same mistakes again and again and again. And will there be anyone left who actually remembers what those books contained? Not if the powers in charge shut down all the libraries and BURN all the books!!

The last librarian-in the world's last library-has just been told that his library is about to be closed down. One of his closest friends, an author-convinces him they have to save at least the most important of the books. Meanwhile they need help--which are the most important?

Is there a revolution about to begin--who are the good guys and who the bad--it will get all tangled up and unfortunately I will have to keep reading this 3 book series--because the cliff hanger at the end grabbed me--just as this book did. Another book that I read in one sitting!! This is a conspiracy novel that will stay with me for all eternity!


About the Book: (from Amazon)

The last library.
The last books.
The last chance.

Eighty years from now there is no war, no hunger, no pollution. After overcoming a series of calamities in the first half of the century, human advancements birthed a utopian society.

The world is secure and Earth’s 2.9 billion people are healthy and happy.

When everything is perfect, the only thing left to fear is the truth.

With a single government ruling the entire planet, using a common currency and one language, the population is unified and enjoying the prosperity that comes with more than seven decades of peace. Free healthcare for all, and guaranteed employment, make the future a dream. But this future is only safe if those in power can hide the past.

The books must be destroyed!

When the single remaining library of physical books is ordered closed and its “dangerous” contents burned, almost no one notices, almost no one cares. The impossible task of rescuing the books, discovering their secrets, and unraveling a coded paradox, is up to an angry author, a brazen revolutionary and the last librarian. If they fail, humanity will lose more than just what is printed on those antique pages . . . if it survives at all.

Never let them catch you reading!

This conspiracy thriller will appeal to fans of Ray Bradbury, George Orwell, Marcus Sakey, Ernest Cline, Hugh Howey, Daniel Silva, Clive Cussler, Orson Scott Card, Pierce Brown, Blake Crouch, Douglas E. Richards, A.G. Riddle, Ursula Le Guin, and Suzanne Collins.

Praise for the Justar Journal

"Pushed all the right buttons - SciFi, mystery, techno-thriller, quotes from great authors . . . "
"Fascinating, clever story reminiscent of 1984.”
“Richly deep characters. His words flow smoothly over a textured plot that's interlaced with an imaginative world of science fiction, captivating readers.”
“A complex conspiracy that kept me guessing and reading until I consumed the entire series!"
"Very engaging plot with thought provoking turns. Very exciting read.”


Read a Chapter or Two Here

Purchase the Book Here



About the Author: (from Amazon)


USA TODAY Bestselling Author Brandt Legg uses his unusual real life experiences to create page-turning novels. He’s traveled with CIA agents, dined with senators and congressmen, mingled with astronauts, chatted with governors and presidential candidates, had a private conversation with a Secretary of Defense he still doesn’t like to talk about, hung out with Oscar and Grammy winners, had drinks at the State Department, been pursued by tabloid reporters, and spent a birthday at the White House by invitation from the President of the United States.

At age eight, Legg's father died suddenly, plunging his family into poverty. Two years later, while suffering from crippling migraines, he started in business, and turned a hobby into a multi-million-dollar empire. National media dubbed him the “Teen Tycoon,” and by the mid-eighties, Legg was one of the top young entrepreneurs in America, appearing as high as number twenty-four on the list (when Steve Jobs was #1, Bill Gates #4, and Michael Dell #6). Legg still jokes that he should have gone into computers.

By his twenties, after years of buying and selling businesses, leveraging, and risk-taking, the high-flying Legg became ensnarled in the financial whirlwind of the junk bond eighties. The stock market crashed and a firestorm of trouble came down. The Teen Tycoon racked up more than a million dollars in legal fees, was betrayed by those closest to him, lost his entire fortune, and ended up serving time for financial improprieties.

After a year, Legg emerged from federal prison, chastened and wiser, and began anew. More than twenty-five years later, he’s now using all that hard-earned firsthand knowledge of conspiracies, corruption and high finance to weave his tales. Legg’s books pulse with authenticity.

His series have excited nearly a million readers around the world. Although he refused an offer to make a television movie about his life as a teenage millionaire, his autobiography is in the works. There has also been interest from Hollywood to turn his thrillers into films. With any luck, one day you’ll see your favorite characters on screen.

Legg now writes full time – his favorite endeavor ever! For more information, visit BrandtLegg.com, or to contact Brandt directly, email him: Brandt@BrandtLegg.com, he loves to hear from readers and always responds!


Author's Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads








All opinions expressed are my own honest opinions. For more information please check my Disclosure Statement. Our giveaways are in no way sponsored or promoted by Facebook or Google.

Sunday Stroll Giveaway Linky 6/24-7/01

Saturday, June 23, 2018


Christy's Cozy Corners is a co-host of Sunday Stroll. So now you can enter on here or on Christy's Cozy Corners and the links will appear on both! Please feel free to link up all your wonderful giveaways here!! Link directly to the giveaway. Those linked to websites or main blog pages will be removed. Please use blog name, giveaway title and end date when posting. Post some, Enter Some, Win Some!

AND Why don't you follow me on Bloglovin' so you will be the first to know what's up at Miki's Hope!

PLEASE NOTE-I HAVE SWITCHED FROM FEEDBURNER TO FEEDPRESS FOR RSS FEED AND EMAIL PLEASE RESIGN UP TO GET ALL THAT IS HAPPENING AT MIKI'S HOPE CLICK HERE and for EMAIL CLICK HERE OR BOTH BUTTONS CAN BE FOUND AT THE VERY TOP OF MY BLOG!!

Additionally--if you find you are not getting my emails anymore as of 5/25/18 it is more then likely due to the new EU GDPS rules--you probably have to subscribe again-- Use the buttons above if you want to keep receiving my emails or RSS Feed


People have been asking me where I go to enter my giveaways--here are a few I try to do every week! There are more but these are the ones I try very hard not to miss!! I generally access these through Bloglovin' Some of the links will take you to the site and you will have to find the linky-others have dedicated pages and you will have to find the right dates.

Pure Imagination Saturdays–Book giveaways and reviews


If you are no longer receiving my RSS Feed or Emails it is probably due to the new EU GDPS rules if you are from the EU (I am from the US)--If you want to keep getting my emails you may have to sign up again!

READ OR LISTEN TO A BOOK TODAY AND INSTILL THE LOVE OF READING IN YOUR CHILDREN BY READING TO THEM!!!












All opinions expressed are my own honest opinions. For more information please check my Disclosure Statement. Our giveaways are in no way sponsored or promoted by Facebook or Google.

Wrinkle In Time Digital Copy GA-1-US-Ends 7/6 #WrinkleInTimeBluray

Friday, June 22, 2018


I have really been meaning to read this book--it is on my must be read list! Meanwhile for all you who read it or not you can now watch it, AT HOME. From what I have heard this is one wonderful story which teaches about individuality. Follow your light--the one one that is right for you--no one else's light will do which you do not want to miss! Just read below and you'll see what I mean!


A Wrinkle In Time is out for purchase, woohoo! Have you seen this amazing film yet? You're going to want to bring this movie home, so I'm teaming up with This N That with Olivia to offer one reader a digital copy of Disney's A Wrinkle In Time.

About A Wrinkle In Time

From visionary director Ava DuVernay comes Disney’s “A Wrinkle in Time,” an epic adventure based on Madeleine L’Engle’s timeless classic which takes audiences across dimensions of time and space, examining the nature of darkness versus light and, ultimately, the triumph of love. Through one girl’s transformative journey led by three celestial guides, we discover that strength comes from embracing one’s individuality and that the best way to triumph over fear is to travel by one’s own light.


Enter to Win A Wrinkle In Time Digital Copy (Ends 7/6) #WrinkleInTimeBluray Storm Reid is Meg Murry, Deric McCabe is Charles Wallace Murry and Reese Witherspoon is Mrs. Whatsit in Disney’s A WRINKLE IN TIME.

Meg Murry is a typical middle school student struggling with issues of self-worth who just wants to fit in. The daughter of two world-renowned physicists, she is intelligent and uniquely gifted, as is Meg’s younger brother, Charles Wallace, but she has yet to realize it for herself. Complicating matters is the mysterious disappearance of Mr. Murry, which has left Meg devastated and her mother broken-hearted. Charles Wallace introduces Meg and her fellow classmate Calvin to three celestial beings (Mrs. Which, Mrs. Whatsit and Mrs. Who) who have journeyed to Earth to help search for their father, and together they embark on their formidable quest. Travelling via a wrinkling of time and space known as tessering, they are transported to worlds beyond their imagination where they must confront a powerful evil force. To make it back home to Earth, Meg must face the darkness within herself in order to harness the strength necessary to defeat the darkness rapidly enveloping the Universe.


Enter to Win a Digital Copy

One reader will win a Digital Copy of A Wrinkle In Time. All entrants must reside in the US and be 18+ older to be eligible. The participating bloggers are not responsible for prize fulfillment and the winner will be contacted by Olivia Douglass via email to claim their prize. The winner will have 48 hours to claim or their prize will be forfeit. Enter via the Giveaway Form below.







I received an entry in the giveaway form for helping to promote this giveaway. All opinions expressed are my own honest opinions. For more information please check my Disclosure Statement. Our giveaways are in no way sponsored or promoted by Facebook or Google.
 
Miki's Hope . Design by Pocket